Chicken Souvlaki

12 Jan

Chicken Souvlaki

Recipe from A Taste of Home Cooking

  • 4 chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • Salt and pepper
  • Tzatziki
  • Pita bread
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • Chopped fresh dill


In a bowl or plastic bag, add oil, lemon juice, oregano, salt and pepper. Add chicken pieces to mixture and toss. Marinate for at least 3 hours.

Thread chicken onto skewers. Grill over high heat or bake at 325 degrees for 30 minutes or until cooked throughout. Turn the skewers a few times while cooking.

Heat pita on grill or in oven to warm. Place pita on plate and top with chicken, followed by tzatziki, onion and dill.

This is part of that exciting greek dinner I made. It was delicious, healthy and simple. For quicker cooking, use a grill. I chose to bake because I do not have a grill. I also managed to not get a picture of the finished product because I was too excited to eat! I will definitely make this recipe again and get a picture next time. I promise!

One Response to “Chicken Souvlaki”

  1. The Home Cook January 28, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for letting me know you made it!

Leave a Comment

