Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon

11 Mar

Filet mignon

This recipe is dairy free

  • 2 bacon strips
  • 1 teaspoon rubbed sage
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary, crushed
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried savory
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 beef tenderloin steaks (1 to 1-1/2 inches thick and about 6 ounces each)

Recipe from Taste of Home.

Set oven to broil to preheat.filet mignon

In a small bowl combine spices. Rub into each side of each steak.

baconWrap a strip of bacon around each steak and secure with a toothpick. You may have to cut the bacon strip in half or use two strips for each steak. My steaks were too big for just one strip of bacon. (Not a problem if you ask me.)

Most people choose to grill these steaks, but since I don’t have a grill, I cooked them in the oven. If you’re going this route, place the steaks in a dish allowing for some juice run off. Cook the steaks approximately 20 minutes on each side, checking regularly to get the proper doneness that you prefer. I cooked mine medium.

I decided to make a special Valentines Day dinner for a special someone. With the help of the good old Google machine and a nice butcher at Safeway, this is what I decided on. I served the steaks with my Rosemary Potatoes, steamed broccoli and a Syrah. We both really enjoyed the meal and I was extremely impressed with how my impromptu steaks came out.bacon wrapped filet mignon

One Response to “Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rosemary Potatoes | Guide to Dairy Free Cooking - April 3, 2013

    […] made these potatoes to compliment my Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon. They were delicious and the perfect balance for the steaks. They would also pair nicely with […]

Leave a Comment

