Dairy Free Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

17 Aug

dairy free mint chocolate chip ice cream

Recipe adapted from Butter with a Side of Bread

    • 2 cups Silk unsweetened coconut milk
    • 1/2 cup Silk vanilla soy milk
    • 1 cup sugar
    • 1 1/2 tsp. mint extract
    • Green food coloring – I just dip a toothpick into my Wilson gel food coloring and then dip that into my mix for a slight green
    • 1-2 oz chocolate – I used 100% cocoa Ghirardelli¬†bars

  1. Chop or grate chocolate into thin shavings
  2. Combine all ingredients except chocolate in a bowl
  3. Get your ice cream bowl out of the freezer and use immediately
  4. Start your ice cream maker and let it run for about 30 seconds.
  5. Slowly pour in the milk and sugar mixture
  6. Let ice cream churn for about 15 minutes
  7. Slowly pour chocolate into ice cream maker. Let run another 5 minutes
  8. When my ice creams are done I like to transfer it to a freezer safe bowl, cover and freeze for about an hour before serving to firm it up a bit more.

I bought an ice cream maker about a week ago. I figured it would be a good investment since I usually buy dairy free ice cream at $5/pint and the flavor selection is more than disappointing. What a great investment!!! Now I can have any flavor of ice cream I’d like!

The best part? This ice cream recipe is creamy! I haven’t had creamy ice cream in years! Yum!

Leave a Comment

