Zucchini Potato Soup

28 Aug

Zucchini potato soup

Recipe adapted from My Recipes

  • 1 medium leek
  • 4 bacon slices
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 4 cups low-sodium fat-free chicken broth
  • 1 pound zucchini, sliced (about 3 small squash)
  • 1/2 pound small new potatoes, quartered
  • 3/4 cup soy milk
  • 1/4 cup margarine
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

  1. Cut root from leek and remove tough outer leaves, and tops from leek, leaving 2 inches of dark leaves. Thinly slice leek (the bottom portion); rinse well, and drain.zucchini potato soup
  2. Cook bacon in a large pot over medium-high heat 8 to 10 minutes or until crisp; remove bacon, and drain on paper towels, reserving 2 Tbsp. drippings in pot oven.
  3. Crumble bacon ad set aside.
  4. Sauté leek, celery, and garlic in hot drippings 3 to 4 minutes or until tender. Add chicken broth, zucchini, and potatoes, and simmer 35 minutes. Stab potato with a fork to be sure they are softened.
  5. Stir in soy milk, margarine and parsley. Season with salt and pepper. Taste and add more if desired.
  6. Remove from heat, and cool 5 minutes.
  7. Process mixture, in batches, in a blender or food processor until smooth, stopping to scrape down sides as needed.
  8. Sprinkle with crumbled bacon, and serve immediately, or if desired, cover and chill 4 to 6 hours.

Recently my friend gave me two gigantic zucchini hybrids that she grew in her home garden. I wanted to try something unique and that’s when I came across this recipe.

I really didn’t know what to expect since there are no reviews on the recipe and I couldn’t find anything similar elsewhere, but I gave it a shot, adjusting the recipe to make it dairy free. When I gave it the first taste, I kid you not, my jaw dropped! I didn’t not expect the soup to be THAT delicious.

This is a MUST try!

Leave a Comment

